Originally Posted by Economist
Guys once again we are at the end of another eventful decade (2000 to 2010)
Many of us have been in the forum for about 3 years.
Let us all take a breather and reflect on the past decade and the impact on the economy, real-estate, population growth, inflation wages etc etc:
- This eventful decade started with substantial fear of a global IT meltdown - Y2K Bug. There were doomsday predictions everywhere people were buying candles and canned food, emptied their bank account and held cash (Including my flat mate who was a network architect at IBM)
- Once Y2K turned out to be a fizzer doomsayers were saying most Indian IT professionals from US will be sent home as Y2K is now fixed and they are not needed 9in turn Chennai RE market would collapse due to lack of remittance).
- Then came spectacular destruction of Twin Tower by terrorist and as we know global political landscape changed since that day of 9/11/01.War in Afghanistan and Iraq. Doomsayers were at it again predicting exodus of gulf workers and reduction in NRI remittance for property investments.
- Then we had nuclear stand off with Pakistan as Indian Parliament was at siege by terrorist attack. Doomsayer were predicting halt of overseas investment in India as it is unsafe market.
- Humongous Tsunami showed it power on Indian costs and many parts of Asia – Doomsayers were at it again predicting no one will property in costal locations and cities. ECR & OMR was predicted to crash.
- Then 2007 GFC that resulted in the collapse of large financial institutions, the bailout of banks by national governments and downturns in markets around the world, etc etc, etc. Once again doomsayers were out with end of the world predictions.
Guys, what has happened in the past 10 years in relation to:
- Chennai RE market.
- Income of Chennai residence
- Population of Chennai (rural migration).
- Infrastructure of Chennai (airport, roads, ports etc)
- Cost of commodities (onions, cement, Iron, rice),rent, wages.
- Overseas/National Investments in to Industries in Chennai region (Auto, IT, Health, Chemical etc)
I am eager to hear your unbiased views, experience and knowledge on the above.
Kindly avoid extra large verbiage with high level financial jargons and heavily spun web of connections/Links (such as Siberian oil export to Iceland and Obama type connections)
As I am a layman and I am unwise to understand complicated response.
Chennai alone Tamil Nadu ?
May be my plot (near Chennai) price may increase and my flat price also... But Chennai alone Tamil Nadu ??
Metro Rail - RS 14,000 Crores
Coovum Cleaing - RS 1200 Crores
(Joke of this Century).
Adyar Park - RS 100 Crores
Koturpuram Library - Rs 100 Crores
Chennai Airport expansion - Rs 2200 Crores
Bridges
Guindy Kathipara
Airport bridge
Padi
Koyambedu
Perambur
Pallavaram
Mogappair
VyasarPadi.... etc etc.
Greenfield Sriperumbuthur Airport - Multi Crore
If the TN govt spends atleast Rs 1000 crores each for infrastructure development in Kovai, Madurai, Trichy, Nellai and Salem.... the migration to Chennai can be controlled.
And the state govt is NOT willing to allot single Rupee for the Chennai Kanyakumari double line (Rail track). And NOT fighting the central govt for this.