Originally Posted by ananthkra
I have booked a falt with Doshi Builders at their Tambaram project Nakshtra and paid advance payment of 5.25 Lacs during Sept'08. I have been asking them to provide the parent document to process my loan and they could not provide the same. Now I have cancelled the booking but they are demanding that they will deduct 10% of the booking amount as cancellation fee which works out to Rs.52500. I have sent letters and mails but they do not reply. I ahve also requested them to return Rs.4.75 Lacs but till now they are not doing so. None of the senior management officals are available for discussion and every time I am directed to speak to the customer care department. Please not I have also note signed any agreement till date with them. As I do not want to loose my hard earned money 5.25 lacs sugeest me how to move forward.
ananth
Dear ananthkra,
Doshi is supposed to be a good and decent builder, Grade I in Chennai. It is not good for them to put their customers into difficulties. After all, it is their fault in not providing the documents to the client. They also get the benefit of no inerest on the amount paid when they are to return the deposit on cancellation. There was also another member who wanted to cancel the booking as the poor chap lost his job and is not in a position to take loan for the flat he booked and the builder asking for Rs. 1 lakh as cancellation charge. Such reputed Builder cannot afford to lose the name they have earned in decades in the RE field in Chennai. You should visit their Head Office in person and insist that you meet their top brass MD or Director on your problem. In any case, it is bad to see, the RE downtrend is even making the reputed builders lose their credibility by not servicing their customers the way it ought to be. Such personal difficulties expressed by the members will go a long way in other members and guests knowing more about the builders of repute, how they take the clients for a ride. In fact I was also looking for a 3 bed flat in this project, and finally left it as the expected delivery was after a long period whereas, I was looking for a flat for possession before March 09. I think, God has been kind to me in this case by making me avoid this project.