I completely agree about the pathetic states of the sidewalks, especially Bangalore , after 10 yrs abroad and after being sold on the net on the "luxury apartments" nonsense , we were shocked out of our wits to see what was really on offer in Bangalore . With a 18 month old baby our stroller /pram broke on the 5th day of our taking him out for a walk on the horrendous footpaths of the city . Mantri greens maybe coveted property , infact we saw some of their apartments in Malleswaram . What hits the eye is the lack of finish, if you stand in the lobby and look out of the window, you will see the sides and back of the building splattered with paan stain of the construction workers and undone paint work, when I spend 85 lakhs - 1 crore on a house I'm looking for a complete environment not just the flat i am living in. This is true of most of these builders.
You cannot step out of the building premises without a car because as soon as you are outside the compound of the building you are directly on the Sampige main road which is teeming with a continuous flow of traffic so much so that its dangerous to cross the road by foot .
I find that in India nobody cares about the importance of pavements , you have flower and fruit vendors right there and at the end of the day their rotting unsold stuff is simply discarded on the pavements, what one is actually doing is avoiding all the filth and its more like a trek than a stroll on the pavements .
Its certainly the job of the civic authorities to ensure that pavements and sidewalks are well laid out and strictly used for pedestrians , we dont have the roads with the vehicular traffic and we dont have pavements which serve the flower/fruit vendors and also double up as open drains , what are the pedestrians expected to do, fly from one spot to another??
The buiders on their part are just mindlessly erecting structures. Abroad (even some of the poorer South east asian countries) all builders ensure quality pavements, dustbins etc are well provided and MAINTAINED and create a total living environment that the investor can experience . Must say this whole indian experience has left us very disillusioned