Go Back   Indian Real Estate Forum - www.indianrealestateforum.com > Real Estate India - IREF Community > Announcements

Announcements Indian Real Estate Forum (IREF) is not meant for buying or selling property. Advertisements, solicitations for real estate services or business are strictly prohibited.

Like Tree108Likes

Old 14-05-10   #1
Admin

Likes Given: 216
Wink Moderators Wanted- Apply Now! [Updated, October 1 2012]

IREF Moderation: Looking for Moderators

Dear Members,

The effective moderation of a successful forum takes a great amount of discipline and ability.

We at IREF are looking for volunteers who can function as Moderators for various "City Sections” as well as other categories of the forum.

Members are encouraged to recommend nominees whom they think would be suitable for the position. We will also conduct a POLL once the recommendations are shortlisted. While recommending, please explain why you have nominated that person.

The Moderator's Role:

General Presence - As an IREF moderator, you are expected to not only enforce the rules, but to also follow them, and be 'role models' of good forum etiquette and behavior. IREF Moderators should be polite, helpful, and considerate. Whether participating in the forums or acting in an administrative capacity, moderators should always remain professional and polite in their actions and comments.

As a moderator, you would need to demonstrate an excellent grasp and respect for the forum's rules, have sufficient experience with the ins and outs of the forums, spend an above average amount of time in the forums, and have shown the personal qualities that are desired in a good Moderator - friendliness, approachability, and a desire to help the members of the forums enjoy their time here. You should strive to keep these qualities as a Moderator.

Your actions on IREF should always be made with the best interests of IREF in mind. Keep the forum clean, keep the forums fun, and be good 'role models' of behavior and respect for all of the members and their opinions.

As a Moderator, you will find yourself in tough positions. Should you ban someone, or give them a warning shot? Should you enforce a guideline even though it’s only a small transgression and it probably wasn’t intentional, or should you let it slide so that you don’t appear tough, dictatorial, and uncompromising? For each situation and community, the approach the moderator takes will differ.

If your goal is to fill an ego-based need like status or popularity, you probably won’t make a good moderator.

A good reason to become a moderator is that you love helping people and are looking for an outlet to contribute. Great moderators are active in their forums, and they love seeing their communities’ blossom. An active moderator has tremendous influence over the type of community that evolves. If there’s anything you’ll get out of being a moderator, it’s that you’ll build stronger communication and leadership skills.

Tasks will be:

- Assist people who need help within your specific field
- Keep an eye on postings made in your category, and remove inappropriate messages if necessary
- Assist people who need help within your specific field
- And of course, create postings on things of interest to others!

What does moderation involve?

-Basically you check the forums at least twice a day and use the built-in moderation functions to handle any problems that come up. In some cases, you’ll automatically receive an email whenever a forum member reports a problem, so in many cases you’ll be alerted to problems before you even visit the site.

-Your privileges may include the ability to delete, close/re-open, and move threads and posts. You may also be able to send private messages to members.

-Depending on how many qualified people apply to be moderators and how popular the forums become, we could have multiple moderators per forum or multiple forums per moderator.

If you decide you no longer wish to moderate, you can quit at any time. We just ask that you give me reasonable notice (two weeks would be great) to find a suitable successor.

If you'd like to be a moderator, simply reply to this Topic.

Tell us a bit about yourself, and what you think qualifies you to work. This would include any references or credentials you might have when it comes to moderating experience. Not having experience will not necessarily exclude you, so please don't be discouraged!

All the Best,
Administrator

UPDATE: Moderators Wanted- Apply Now! [Updated, October 1 2012]

P.S: Moderators are neither paid nor employed by IndianRealEstateForum.Com. They are independent members volunteering their time to ensure that IndianRealEstateForum.Com provides a valuable service.
Old 15-05-10   #2

Likes Given: 8
Default My nominations

I am nominating following persons to become moderators. All members are much active in pune thread.

LoginId ------ - Reason

realacres - Wide knowledge of RE, veteran member, very helpful, 007 like investigator
abeerbagul - Good knowledge, helpful, polite, is into RE for many years.
harishkulks - Helpful, active, good knowlege, inspirational
monds - Good knowledge in local politics, RE, and active member

Aditi
Old 15-05-10   #3

Likes Given: 3
My Mood: Busy

wont mind getting the Honour

Nothing much in experience except a couple of websites here and their... not really getting the time to work on them
Old 16-05-10   #4

Likes Given: 995
My Mood: Amazed

hum bhi hain race mein !!
Old 16-05-10   #5

Likes Given: 25
My Mood: Happy

Kuch eligibility hai kya?

nahi tu, mein bhi hoon..

(have extensive experience in vbulletin forums)
Old 16-05-10   #6
Ex-Moderator

Likes Given: 275
My Mood: Innocent

I think there will be many eligible especially in Pune thread as this is the most active & upto date section. Personally I feel that IGRM should take poll ASAP on all the sections, starting from the one which is most active. Then IGRM can take final call. I would also like to nominate many people on Pune thread, all have their section of knowledge, Aditi included, but I think that many won't nominate themselves, so IGRM should also PM from his end as well.

Inclusion of members as mods is indeed a welcome step.
avinasht likes this.
Old 17-05-10   #7

My Mood: Relaxed

I am willing to be a moderator. This is the first time I will be a moderator on any forum, but will try to carry out my responsibilities in the best interests of the community
<EOS> (End Of Speech)

Thanks to Aditi for nominating all of us.
Old 17-05-10   #8

My Mood: Relaxed

In turn, would like to nominate Jitu as a moderator, representative of the decent builders in Pune.
Old 24-05-10   #9

Likes Given: 2
My Mood: Cheerful

I would like to be a moderator, I think a lot of posts and threads are being repeated and it would immensly help to consolidate threads on the same topic....
Old 29-05-10   #10

Likes Given: 8
Default I nominate myself

I too want to apply to become an moderator.
I agree to spare some time to do the job and the rest or terms.

--
aditi sharma

apply, moderators, wanted