#1 |
Dear friends,
This is my first post here and was hoping to get advice from people who have been investing in real estate. I have never invested in real estate and around 8 years ago invested around Rs. 75 lakhs in the stock market, with the help of a professional private fund manager. Today my amount has grown to Rs. 10 crores. I wanted to know if it is worth investing a part of this in real estate? Or real estate has too many headaches in terms of taxation and loop holes. If I do invest in real estate, I feel I will do it in Bangalore is it is a growing city. Would appreciate advice from professional real estate investors. Thanks. |
#2 |
Firstly give me the number of your fund manager.Actually my question was the reverse .I wanted to invest in shares. So tell me how good or bad was this ride of 8 years .
#3 |
You need to see wealth advisor/planner. I think from hereon equities are going to be the asset class that will deliver far superior returns than RE. Real estate will be more of an inflation hedge for you.
You may need to have 30% of your current portfolio exposed to RE and that too -- RE PE/VC funds rather than illiquid assets. You may also look at commercial real estate for steady income. Rest of it you should distribute in debt + equity still. Congrats for the stupendous reurns. Last but not the least, retire in 3-4 years and settle down in Hawaii and enjoy life
#4 |
Thanks for the replies friends.
smitarvn17 - I am not sure if this forum would be the right place to share the names of my fund managers. Also they are very selective and don't accept everybody. But on the whole investing in the stock has been quite good to me, as I gave my money to professionals on the recommendation of a close friends. Also on the taxation front it is good, since long term capital gains are zero. So basically I paid no tax on my returns. Dividends are also less time consuming than collecting rent, as well as there were no hassles of repairs, maintenance, etc. But I was thinking of diversifying a bit away from stocks. More than a financial advisor, I wanted to know about investments in real estate from people who are already doing it. I feel it is best to take advice from people, who have already made money doing real estate. Nishant, thanks for the advice. Will surely do that. ![]() Noida also seems interesting - how is it compared to Bangalore? |
#5 |
Returns On DLEHI NCR and MUMBAI are higher on any day.Returns however are higher when u enter the market at pre development stage or pre launch stage however if you get double the money of your invest in five year span that is the max in Bangalore
Last edited by avinash2060; 05-05-10 at 08:32 AM. |
#6 |
Thanks Avinash. I guess I will post my queries in the NCR and Mumbai sub-forums.
#7 |
My Mood:
haii sir bangalore is the best option for investing contact me if you want to go ahead with bangalore contact me harishrealty1626gmail.com
| crores, estate, highest returns, investing, real, real estate investments, stock market, worth |