Go Back   Indian Real Estate Forum - www.indianrealestateforum.com > Real Estate in Indian Cities > Hot Cities > Chennai

Old 04-03-09   #1

Default Flat or Independent house

And the argument continues should one invest in a flat or an independent house if he has the resources to meet?

With the rates like 180 Lacs for just 4 walls and a dry pool, a corner called gym and a community hall which suddenly becomes phase II and crazy parking spaces and doors opening onto ur neighbours living room is it worth to go for it and I forgot to mention the maintenance charges and the associations.........

What happens to these apartments when they grow beyond 25 years? Just after 10 years they look so withered. Resale Flats in Gandhi Nagar looks so unkempt and with the old rusting lifts and mosaic floors and narrow stairs they have the audacity to quote more than 5000 per sq ft!!!
Old 04-03-09   #2

I think we need to calculate how it would affect us financially. I am not talking abt super-rich people who can pay cash for whole amount. If you are working and need to take a loan...its really a shock seeing the prices quoted for properties inside the city. Thinking about what if you could deposit the 180 lakhs in a SBI deposit and get around 8% return or get a property worth the same amount paying interest around 9%. Even if the prices stagnate...it would be a loss taking into account inflation.

I am not sure if RE is still a good investment as it used to be before. I too was thinking about ing a property but now i have second thoughts unless the prices come down say 30%. Probably I might be a lot better off by investing else where and not in RE.

This forum has been very helpful in gaining more knowledge in RE.
Old 04-03-09   #3
Natarajg007
Unregistered User

As I always said,Land appreciates, building depreciates. As I also said, DONT SELL YOUR LAND FOR A SONG!
Old 05-03-09   #4

My Mood: Relaxed

Originally Posted by Natarajg007 View Post
As I always said,Land appreciates, building depreciates. As I also said, DONT SELL YOUR LAND FOR A SONG!
Dear friend,

I would rather like to say- land appreciates faster than the flats. Building, in all practical sense and reality, does not really depreciate, but appreciate at a lower rate than the land. Neither sell the land for a song nor at high prices at any point of time.

ks2071746 :p
Old 05-03-09   #5

Go for independent house if you are rich
Old 06-03-09   #6
Natarajg007
Unregistered User

Originally Posted by Nataraajg007 View Post
Yep and you will come and stay as a tenant and pay pittance! Right? That is what you are doing in Mambalam, right?
PS. If you a house dont rent it to Nataraaaaaaaaaaaaaaj
Old 12-03-09   #7

My Mood: Relaxed

Originally Posted by Nataraajg007 View Post
Dear friend,

I would rather say, go for an independent house in a good and decent locality if you can afford with your cash in hand either white or black, but not with a heavy bank loan.

Old 12-03-09   #8
Natarajg007
Unregistered User

Originally Posted by ks2071746 View Post
Dear friend,

I would rather say, go for an independent house in a good and decent locality if you can afford with your cash in hand either white or black, but not with a heavy bank loan.

Why not say " dont take loans to finance RE "?
Old 13-03-09   #9

Originally Posted by Curious Cat View Post
And the argument continues should one invest in a flat or an independent house if he has the resources to meet?

With the rates like 180 Lacs for just 4 walls and a dry pool, a corner called gym and a community hall which suddenly becomes phase II and crazy parking spaces and doors opening onto ur neighbours living room is it worth to go for it and I forgot to mention the maintenance charges and the associations.........

What happens to these apartments when they grow beyond 25 years? Just after 10 years they look so withered. Resale Flats in Gandhi Nagar looks so unkempt and with the old rusting lifts and mosaic floors and narrow stairs they have the audacity to quote more than 5000 per sq ft!!!

Dear friend

ing a plot and constructing a house of your taste will be always good and worth.

You can do modifications in future.

chataara

flat, house, independent