Go Back   Indian Real Estate Forum - www.indianrealestateforum.com > Real Estate in Indian Cities > Hot Cities > Chennai

Search Before Posting – Use 'Google Custom Search' – Keep forum free from Duplicate Threads - Use Descriptive Thread Titles

Old 21-06-10   #41

chennai-re has received little or  no feedback

I looked at a site in Rangareddy gardens in Neelankari. The plot is more than 100 mts away from Buckingham canal and more than 4800 sq. feet in area. Just wanted to confirm some of my understandings of that area:

It is under CRZ - 2 acquifier recharge area. So it has to be minimum 4800 sq. ft land and 0.8 fsi is allowed. Is my understanding correct?

Is CMDA the approving authority for buildings there? Is Stilt + 3 possible in that area?

does anyone have any input on water logging during rainy season and if the canal overflows?

Old 27-08-10   #42

Kaishu has received little or  no feedback

Hello Folks, I came across on ground in Vettuvankeni on the right hand side of ECR while going from Chennai. Any idea how much is the ground there? How abt FSI..0.8 is what applicable there? Thanks in advance and appreciate it.
Old 28-08-10   #43

My Mood: Aggressive
balab1405 has received little or  no feedback

chennai-re ==> whaz the cost of the land you bought their ?
Old 06-01-11   #44

sudheer has received little or  no feedback

Originally Posted by jeyakaran View Post
Iam rephrasing the question of Sudheer as it is my question too: For plot above 500m beyond CMA uthandi limits in places such as kanathur, muttukadu upto Mahabs etc, does Aquafier recharge zone rule of 2 grounds 0.8 fsi etc apply or not?
There is still no answer to this question - so I suppose no one is clear on this. So maybe the FSI does indeed revert back to 1.5 after Uthandi, as ARZ rules do not seem to apply to Kanathur and beyond (assuming it is 500 mts above HTL, ofcourse). So ECR may be an area where DTCP rules are not as restrictive as CMDA.
Old 06-01-11   #45

nabishek has received little or  no feedback

Originally Posted by sudheer View Post
There is still no answer to this question - so I suppose no one is clear on this. So maybe the FSI does indeed revert back to 1.5 after Uthandi, as ARZ rules do not seem to apply to Kanathur and beyond (assuming it is 500 mts above HTL, ofcourse). So ECR may be an area where DTCP rules are not as restrictive as CMDA.
Dear friend,

The rules are the same.Fact of the matter is beyond uthandi it is not classified as CRZ-II or Aquifer recharge zone.Strictly speaking its CRZ-III.But people continue to buy and build taking local panchayats approval.

Later when CMA expands to these area it may be classified as CRZ-II and give some reprieve.It will be in your best intrest to apply the existing rules that applies before uthandi to be on the safer side.
Old 07-01-11   #46

Originally Posted by nabishek View Post
Dear friend,

The rules are the same.Fact of the matter is beyond uthandi it is not classified as CRZ-II or Aquifer recharge zone.Strictly speaking its CRZ-III.But people continue to buy and build taking local panchayats approval.

Later when CMA expands to these area it may be classified as CRZ-II and give some reprieve.It will be in your best intrest to apply the existing rules that applies before uthandi to be on the safer side.
You are right - Kanathur and beyond fall under CRZ-III rules and so does Uthandi and some northern areas inspite of being within CMA limits. I do believe that CRZ-II status applies only upto Neelankarai (prev it was only upto Tiruvanmyur) - rest of CMA (on the ECR) still fall under CRZ-III. But all this CRZ stuff applies only to plots that are less than 500 meters from the HTL (+ other water bodies), whereas ARZ rules apply even to the plots above the 500 mts in the ECR belt (& 100 mts from the Buckingham canal, I think) - and so far as I can see, only to areas within the CMA boundary. As you mentioned, as CMA expands, so would its (CMDA's) rules - so if DTCP approval can be got before CMA authority reaches that village, that would stick - ie. the higher FSI - of 1.5 versus 0.8. Bottomline - As of this time, CMDA would permit only 0.8 FSI upto Uthandi (even for plots not affected by CRZ rules), whereas DTCP would allow 1.5 FSI in the areas they control, as long as it is above 500 mts from HTL (which means that CRZ rules do not apply).

On another note, I am hearing rumors of higher FSI being considered for plots on the right (west) side of ECR - anything to it ?
Old 07-01-11   #47

You are right - Kanathur and beyond fall under CRZ-III rules and so does Uthandi and some northern areas inspite of being within CMA limits. I do believe that CRZ-II status applies only upto Neelankarai (prev it was only upto Tiruvanmyur) - rest of CMA (on the ECR) still fall under CRZ-III. But all this CRZ stuff applies only to plots that are less than 500 meters from the HTL (+ other water bodies), whereas ARZ rules apply even to the plots above the 500 mts in the ECR belt (& 100 mts from the Buckingham canal, I think) - and so far as I can see, only to areas within the CMA boundary. As you mentioned, as CMA expands, so would its (CMDA's) rules - so if DTCP approval can be got before CMA authority reaches that village, that would stick - ie. the higher FSI - of 1.5 versus 0.8. Bottomline - As of this time, CMDA would permit only 0.8 FSI upto Uthandi (even for plots not affected by CRZ rules), whereas DTCP would allow 1.5 FSI in the areas they control, as long as it is above 500 mts from HTL (which means that CRZ rules do not apply).

On another note, I am hearing rumors of higher FSI being considered for plots on the right (west) side of ECR - anything to it ?

To my knowledge there arent many DTCP approved layout before mahabalipuram on ECR.how will you get DTCP approval for your building plan for unapproved plot?Also, Approval of FSI more than 1.5 is possible only for multi storeyed buildings or by opting for premium FSI.

If you are buying a patta land and building a house on your own land by informing the local panchayat.Even if you deviate, no one will question until DTCP/CMDA rules start to be enforced.That time the plot is unapproved and so is the construction.

Panchayat approval is just getting a no objection from the local panchayat.Unless the panchayat has delegated powers from CMDA/DTCP to approve, any go-ahead from them is useless.

I am not too sure about your contention that if you get 1.5 FSI approval before ARZ rules apply, later you will be exempted.Even I have heard that if one had bought say 1 ground land in say palavakkam before 2006,they can get approval for building plan and the min 4800 sqft extent also doesnt apply.Maybe some one more experienced dealing with ECR can clarify.

On a general note, I request all to take time to look at the proposed land usage by year 2026 in the following links

CMDA Land Use Maps
http://www.cmdachennai.gov.in/Volume...4_MP_Maps1.pdf
http://www.cmdachennai.gov.in/Volume...4_MP_Maps2.pdf
http://www.cmdachennai.gov.in/Volume...4_MP_Maps3.pdf

You can see how CMDA has visualized to change the coastline usage thru the period 2006-2026.Now that wont be possible if they keep approving new building constructions.

As of now in my view, If the same rules continue to apply.ECR in long term will become like Santhome, Foreshore estate with only selective pockets like MRC nagar being called posh while the parallel road and locations like Sholinganallur along OMR will quickly develop into a well established self sustained posh locality like Mylapore,R.A.puram uniformly commanding more demand by residents and a more safer bet.

Having said that, I also feel ECR has great potential to be a huge draw for tourists to chennai in future.If proper efforts are taken to develop mahabalipuram like goa and have better facilities and entertainment hubs instead of just resorts we can see even faster development.Who knows later government may also allow skyscrapers on the shoreline like in Miami.
Old 07-01-11   #48

predictor has received little or  no feedback

To my knowledge there arent many DTCP approved layout before mahabalipuram on ECR.how will you get DTCP approval for your building plan for unapproved plot?Also, Approval of FSI more than 1.5 is possible only for multi storeyed buildings or by opting for premium FSI.

If you are buying a patta land and building a house on your own land by informing the local panchayat.Even if you deviate, no one will question until DTCP/CMDA rules start to be enforced.That time the plot is unapproved and so is the construction.

Panchayat approval is just getting a no objection from the local panchayat.Unless the panchayat has delegated powers from CMDA/DTCP to approve, any go-ahead from them is useless.

I am not too sure about your contention that if you get 1.5 FSI approval before ARZ rules apply, later you will be exempted.Even I have heard that if one had bought say 1 ground land in say palavakkam before 2006,they can get approval for building plan and the min 4800 sqft extent also doesnt apply.Maybe some one more experienced dealing with ECR can clarify.

On a general note, I request all to take time to look at the proposed land usage by year 2026 in the following links

CMDA Land Use Maps

You can see how CMDA has visualized to change the coastline usage thru the period 2006-2026.Now that wont be possible if they keep approving new building constructions.

As of now in my view, If the same rules continue to apply.ECR in long term will become like Santhome, Foreshore estate with only selective pockets like MRC nagar being called posh while the parallel road and locations like Sholinganallur along OMR will quickly develop into a well established self sustained posh locality like Mylapore,R.A.puram uniformly commanding more demand by residents and a more safer bet.

Having said that, I also feel ECR has great potential to be a huge draw for tourists to chennai in future.If proper efforts are taken to develop mahabalipuram like goa and have better facilities and entertainment hubs instead of just resorts we can see even faster development.Who knows later government may also allow skyscrapers on the shoreline like in Miami.
Very useful info, just saw only one pdf..yet to gothrough...i guess u r very interested in this domain and eager to see whats happening in the growth of chennai..check http://www.cmdachennai.gov.in/smp_main.html...u will get more info

Last edited by predictor; 07-01-11 at 05:40 AM.
Old 11-01-11   #49

I have been told by DTCP that approval is easy to get for tourism related projects along the ECR - but DTCP's involvement automatically suggests that the area I am referring to, must be south of Uthandi (CMDA is responsible for Uthandi and north). ARZ rules do not seem to apply to DTCP controlled areas - hence my contention that one can build upto 1.5 FSI with DTCP's approval, beyond Uthandi, as long as long as the plot is above 500 mts from the HTL (ie. CRZ rules are to be followed in both DTCP & CMDA controlled areas, but ARZ is a different story). The question is, will CMA extend beyond Uthandi ? Even if they do extend to say, Muttukadu few years from now, if I have DTCP approval for a 1.5 FSI building in Kanathur, CMDA cannot nullify it - as the existing DTCP rules do allow for 1.5 FSI in Kanathur and beyond, as long as the plot is above the 500 mts from HTL. ARZ rules such as 0.8 FSI, 4800 sq ft min plot area, seem to apply only upto Uthandi / required only by CMDA - unless some one can tell me otherwise (I have talked to some DTCP officials too). BTW, those maps are interesting - in ...maps3, it looks like most of OMR is planned to be Industrial (or is that commercial ??) + Mixed Residential whereas ECR is planned to be only Primary Residential + CRZ impacted areas. Wouldn't that imply that ECR would develop with mostly low density housing - hence could become upscale colonies ? Is there such a land use map for Kanathur ?

CMDA Land Use Maps

Old 11-01-11   #50

I have been told by DTCP that approval is easy to get for tourism related projects along the ECR - but DTCP's involvement automatically suggests that the area I am referring to, must be south of Uthandi (CMDA is responsible for Uthandi and north). ARZ rules do not seem to apply to DTCP controlled areas - hence my contention that one can build upto 1.5 FSI with DTCP's approval, beyond Uthandi, as long as long as the plot is above 500 mts from the HTL (ie. CRZ rules are to be followed in both DTCP & CMDA controlled areas, but ARZ is a different story). The question is, will CMA extend beyond Uthandi ? Even if they do extend to say, Muttukadu few years from now, if I have DTCP approval for a 1.5 FSI building in Kanathur, CMDA cannot nullify it - as the existing DTCP rules do allow for 1.5 FSI in Kanathur and beyond, as long as the plot is above the 500 mts from HTL. ARZ rules such as 0.8 FSI, 4800 sq ft min plot area, seem to apply only upto Uthandi / required only by CMDA - unless some one can tell me otherwise (I have talked to some DTCP officials too). BTW, those maps are interesting - in ...maps3, it looks like most of OMR is planned to be Industrial (or is that commercial ??) + Mixed Residential whereas ECR is planned to be only Primary Residential + CRZ impacted areas. Wouldn't that imply that ECR would develop with mostly low density housing - hence could become upscale colonies ? Is there such a land use map for Kanathur ?
Friend,

DTCP rules apply everywhere outside CMA.My question was, is the layout you are referring to is DTCP approved?DTCP do not approve individual sites, they approve only layouts and Local authorities cannot approve division/subdivision of plots in unapproved layouts.If plot is not DTCP approved, how will you get building plan approved by DTCP?

Directorate of Town and Country Planning, Government of Tamil Nadu

I have a feeling, someone is telling you Panchayat approval is DTCP approval.Only some LPA have that authority vested by DTCP to pass resolution among secreteries.Most panchayat approvals are Like DTCP approval - It is NOT DTCP approval.Eventually when a RE regulator is in place, your plot will be like holding paper shares.

Please understand panchayat approvals should be treated like No-Objection certificate which can be revoked anytime.As long as you are able to assert ownership using patta and get co-operation from panchayat to build house, lay roads, drainage and are able to get electricity etc there is no problem.You can wish Vote-bank politics will save your interest.Most registrations in Tamilnadu happens like this only.

I have not seen any zone map beyond Uthandi, but entire ECR stretch is highly restricted zone and with environmentalists crying foul about violations enforcement is likely to be stricter in future.Read the following news links

City coastline wakes up to new CRZ rules - The Times of India

Rich, powerful bend CRZ norms | CMDA | | Indian Express

Also, you may be right about ECR being evolved as more upscale.My view was based on my belief that commercial establishments are vital for residential sustainability esp for middle class.When you have organized development you will have assured appreciation.In a place like India where huge population is moving towards cities for better work opportunities, low density is not possible.If there is restriction to develop it will only lead to encroachment and not well planned localities.To address it, We have to spread the boundries of the city and spread the industries that generate work creating satellite colonies with proper infrastracture to support which I am sure is sure to happen.Its strictly my opinion.Kindly do your due diligence.

ecr, plots, road