Go Back   Indian Real Estate Forum - www.indianrealestateforum.com > Real Estate in Indian Cities > Hot Cities > Gurgaon

Like Tree2466Likes

Old 29-10-12   #5011

Likes Given: 179

Originally Posted by wiseman View Post
Imagine! When we were young (as late as early 1990s ) we used to go to "Theaters" where, not wanting to pay the steep price of Rs 6.60 for the Balcony, used to park in the next class of seating at Rs 4.40!!!

At that price, even with 10k salary, we could see movies 3 times a week and still not feel the pinch! Try that today!

The result is empty malls and multiplexes. And really long queues for the few non multiplex theatres

Originally Posted by Trickcyclist View Post
Prices of office and industrial spaces should be a good barometer to judge the current economic condition as they are linked more robustly to economic activity possible from these premises.

I can only give examples from Noida as this is a market I am well versed with.
In Noida the prices of industrial plots in good locations like sector 57- 65 have been stagnant since 2008. The rental yeild is excellent if you are fortunate enough to have a tenant.
There are very few buyers as they know that tenants are hard to get, I know many owners who have not found any tenants for over 2 years.

Sectors 1-10 have done slightly better because of metro station in sector 15 but the problems with leasing exist even here. We had a garment exporter who was a tenant for 3-4 years but his business has shrunk after 2008-09 and he vacated 2 years ago, one of the floors in our small factory has been lying vacant since then.

I find it difficult to digest the high prices of residential plots when businesses in the same city are struggling. There is manipulation in residential plots as the holding costs are low but in industrial / office space the high holding costs discourage speculators hence the more realistic price.

The massive glut of RTM flats that we will see over the next 3-4 years will be an interesting phenomenon to watch as for the first time investors will have to cope with high maintaince charges.

For end use buy what you can afford but new investors might get good deals going forward. I agree with venky about keeping the powder dry. It's amazing the deals that you can get if you have a huge cash corpus in times of despondency in the market.

Property prices will always increase but the best gains are made by the ones which have something unique about them. To think everything that you buy will give great returns would be an error. I am most pessimistic about projects that are being mass produced ( thousands of flats in one complex),are in average locations and seem to be of poor construction quality ( this would include most Noida flats).

These views are about long term investments , if someone wants to flip over the short term then that will always be possible till the music finally stops.
I didn't know this about industrial plots but I know commercial RE is suffering.

A ten year price freeze due NOIDa flat to glut is possible . But Dwarka like price escalation of vacant flats is also possible. Only time will tell

Originally Posted by realpune View Post
Probably yes. If Kejeriwal had established his party well before going into elections. Eventually, his party will just eat up few votes. We need clear mandate for a national party which is the need of the hour. Hence, one needs to vote for BJP.
Unfortunately he is hurting BJP and helping Congress

Originally Posted by matrix_55 View Post
There is a asset/rental mismatch coming from Delhi as well now. Since I live in west delhi, I can tell you the property market is under tremendous stress.
Example Rentals -

1. 2.15 Cr, 150 yard floor, 2BHK Demand is 20k per month negotiation possible.
This is 1.2% rental yield or thereabouts

2. 3.2 Cr, 175 yard floor, new 3.5 BHK , Demand is 35K per month, negotiation possible
This is again close to 1-1.2% yield

I was stunned when he mentioned some of these properties are lying vacant for 2-3 months because in search of better rents owners are not letting out. What Idiocy to leave couple of months rent for 2k more per month..

Some points:

1. I guess now its a race to the bottom in terms of facilities in NCR. With Delhi FAR being increased and the affordable housing from Noida/Gurgaon/ starts to come online from 2013 end, NCR is poised for a huge downturn/stagnation going ahead. The party has ended. Cleaners will be required in 1-2 years.

2. Things are very much uncertain and will continue to be so for a fairly long term now. That volatility is not being priced in the current pricing. Everyone is out in the sea, looking for some solid ground to rest the feet. Unfortunately, the solid ground does not exist. What exists is solid looking shaky grounds

3. The dreams that you had as to lifestyle and facilities are not going to be real. India is going to be very expensive to realise better living, dining, road, education, sports, medical facilities. Living abroad is not only going to be cheaper, its a much better life as well. If its feasible settle abroad, give a few sighs on airports and move on.
Agree . India cannot improve itself. Better to settle abroad.

One can wait for a few years and pick up a builder floor in Delhi if prices a re static or falling

Originally Posted by ssncr123 View Post
I have friends dealing in south delhi - Defence Colony, SDA, Lajpat Nagar areas. The overheated plot prices in these areas are down by atleast 20%.

And when the market turns south, the buyers are hard to get. The transactions have dried up.
Good to know. What is the Psf price for floors in South Delhi nowadays?

Originally Posted by StraightDriv View Post
Boss

Dil ki baat keh di.

Even i feel that i should have settled abroad when i had the chance but for family and friends.

And now stuck in this land of corrupt and illiterates. I reprimand myself for saying this coz there are only 2 options for people like us:

1.fight shoulder to shoulder with kejriwal or alone.

or

2. Shut the up, stop ranting about what is wrong Nd how it wont change. But simply plan, pack up and as you beautifully quoted take a sigh and head towards an International Airport.

Will actively consider this as an option in coming years.
Same regret with me also

Originally Posted by jaijai View Post
Its wrong to say that both congress and BJP are equally corrupt. They are corrupt but the level of corruption differs hugely. Even the most corrupt of BJP is a child by congress standard.

Example - Yedurappa did what SMKrishna did before him. Notice that Lokayutka court has ordered investigation against both. But while Yedi is considered 'most corrupt' of BJP, SMKrisha is one of the most honest of congress lot.
The best of congress is worse than the worst of BJP.

Originally Posted by krishna99 View Post
What you guys think of today's cabinet reshuffle?
It seems like Congress is trying to undo the bubble size to prevent it from bursting!!!
Pathetic reshuffle. Punishing Anand Sharma who was one of the only performers and promoting Khursheed is just sick
Old 29-10-12   #5012

Likes Given: 220
My Mood: Fine
Default must read::builders, politicians friends forever

appeared in business standard..article link: Article view
Attached Images

Old 29-10-12   #5013

Likes Given: 4

Originally Posted by novice3675 View Post
Originally Posted by realpune (Only one thing can save you! Don't vote for congress. .) This should be the slogan of opposition whenever elections take place.
That's easy! People simply won't vote and that would mean not voting for Congress. That doesn't help.
Old 29-10-12   #5014

Likes Given: 299
Default RBI indicates rate cut likely in its monetary policy review

RBI indicates that rate cut likely in monetary policy review - The Economic Times

Indicating that a cut in interest rate is likely, the Reserve Bank has said despite high inflation it would take steps to support growth in the half- yearly review of monetary policy tomorrow.

"Monetary policy needs to be cautious in the interim, focusing on inflation while using the available space to support growth to the degree it can," RBI said in its macroeconomic and monetary development review.

RBI said the Survey of Professional Forecasters has lowered the GDP growth projection to 5.7 per cent from 6.5 per cent for the current fiscal. Average wholesale price based inflation forecast is revised upwards to 7.7 per cent from 7.3 per cent.

It said the global growth prospects, both in advanced and emerging economies, have weakened and the euro zone troubles have affected business confidence and caused deceleration in global trade.

"Risks of spillovers from global financial markets remain. Unconventional monetary policies have transitorily moderated uncertainties, but the underlying stress has not diminished with incomplete deleveraging and unfinished financial sector reforms," RBI said.

It said sustaining the reform initiatives of the government would be the precursor for a turnaround in economic activity. The government has in the recent past undertaken a host of reform initiatives including hiking diesel prices by over Rs 5 a litre and foreign investment norms for retail, pension, insurance, information and broadcasting sector.

RBI said aggregate demand is weakening, led by the investment slowdown. However, persistent high core inflation remains a cause of concern.

In its last policy review, RBI held interest unchanged, though it had lowered CRR by 0.25 per cent to infuse Rs 17,000 crore liquidity into the system.The RBI said the recent spate of reform measures have helped in arresting the downfall in growth, but called for a greater coordination between different government agencies and removal of structural bottlenecks on infrastructure as the key factors for revival.

"It is necessary to remove the pending constraints in the power, coal and road sectors at the earliest ... Fiscal consolidation and removal of impediments to infrastructure investments hold the key to growth revival," RBI said.

It said there would be fiscal slippages during the year, beyond the budgeted 5.1 percent deficit, and that the final number may not be better than last fiscal's 5.8 per cent.

Earlier in the day Finance MinisterP Chidambaram had unveiled a five year roadmap for fiscal consolidation pegging the fiscal deficit for the current fiscal at 5.3 per cent by bringing in tax reforms and expenditure management.

The budgeted fiscal deficit for the current fiscal was 5.1 per cent. "As macro-risks from inflation and twin deficits recede further, that could yield space down the line for monetary policy to respond more effectively to growth concerns," it said.

The WPI inflation as of September stood at 7.81 per cent, much above the RBI comfort level of 5-6 per cent.

While a majority believes RBI may go in for a cut in the cash reserve ratio (CRR) or the amount of deposits parked with RBI, a few also say a cut in the policy rate (repo) would be a good way of address the issue of sagging growth.

Blaming the high inflation on a wage-price spiral, RBI said, "In the short-run, inflation may turn out to be slightly higher than anticipated ... It is likely to soften from Q4 (January-March period)".

On growth, RBI said, it will fall below its July estimate of 6.5 per cent, but a "modest recovery" can be expected later during the year. Economic growth fell to a nine-year low of 6.5 per cent in 2011-12
Old 29-10-12   #5015

Likes Given: 299
Default FinMin P Chidambaram expects RBI to take signals from fiscal road map

A day ahead of RBI's half yearly monetary policy review, Finance MinisterP Chidambaram has expressed the hope that the central bank would take note of steps announced by the government to contain fiscal deficit and act accordingly.

"Well, I am making the statement so that everybody in India acknowledges the steps which we are taking. And also acknowledges the government is determined to bring about fiscal consolidation. And I sincerely hope that everybody will read the statement and take note of that...," he said, when asked whether the RBI would cut rates after taking into account the steps announced by him to contain fiscal deficit.

RBI, which is scheduled to announce second quarter review of credit policy tomorrow, has at many occasions expressed concerns about the fiscal health of the government. It has been advising the government to narrow fiscal deficit so that it gets some headroom to ease monetary policy.

Government has been trying hard to spur economic growth by taking tough measures like opening of multi-brand retail to foreign investment and raising diesel prices by over Rs 5 per litre, to push economic reforms.

During the first quarter of the current fiscal, economic growth had fallen to nine-year low of 5.5 per cent. The growth in factory output in August was also not encouraging as the Index of Industrial Production (IIP) expanded by a nominal 2.7 per cent only.

RBI in its monetary policy have been maintaining that bringing down inflation is its priority. It last cut the repo rate in its annual policy by 0.5 per cent, a reduction after a gap of three years.

Meanwhile, costlier diesel fuelled inflation to 10-month high of 7.81 per cent in September.

Analysts say while RBI continuously fought inflation with 13 successive rate hikes till October 2011, the last rate hike was exactly a year ago.

Since then, the cash reserve ratio-- the mandatory amount of cash deposits banks need to keep with RBI-- and Statutory Liquidity ratio (SLR) have been cut by 1.50 and 1 per cent, respectively.

The repo or short-term lending rate at present is 8 per cent, while CRR is 4.50 per cent.

RBI has also injected liquidity through open market operations worth over Rs 2.1 lakh crore apart from cutting the policy rates by 0.5 per cent in March this year.

FinMin P Chidambaram expects RBI to take signals from fiscal road map - The Economic Times
Old 30-10-12   #5016

Likes Given: 995
My Mood: Amazed

Originally Posted by yogenderg View Post
not sure about gurgaon about bubble burst, but i know a place in rajasthan where properties gave a return of almost 100 - 300% in last 2 years, bust have been correcting now for last 2-3 months...prices have stopped moving upward or have come down by 20-30%.recently got a few calls from brokers in project sare crescent phase 4 where sellers are ready to sell at there booking price without any premium or in era landmark where premium too less to be called a good ROI....does this mean bubble is bursting in gurgaon too?
sir .. it first increased by 100-300 % within 2 yrs right ? so in that sense 20-30% correction is really nothing .. just goes to show that in India in long run one can never lose out in RE investments
Old 30-10-12   #5017

Likes Given: 52
My Mood: Breezy

Originally Posted by jaijai View Post
Its wrong to say that both congress and BJP are equally corrupt. They are corrupt but the level of corruption differs hugely. Even the most corrupt of BJP is a child by congress standard.

Example - Yedurappa did what SMKrishna did before him. Notice that Lokayutka court has ordered investigation against both. But while Yedi is considered 'most corrupt' of BJP, SMKrisha is one of the most honest of congress lot.
I would say both the parties are equally corrupt. Its just that, BJP is waiting to be in power to reach new corruption limits set by Congress.
Old 30-10-12   #5018

Likes Given: 94

Originally Posted by sidhuRE View Post
I would say both the parties are equally corrupt. Its just that, BJP is waiting to be in power to reach new corruption limits set by Congress.
The data so far shows otherwise. BJP has been in power in many states as well in Center for 6 years. The 'benchmark' of corruption differs between the two. What is called 'corruption' that makes the heads roll in BJP is considered normal behavior in Congress.

Even if I leave aside our political preferences, calling everyone EQUALLY corrupt is the best defense of corrupt.
It may be considered politically correct and put you on high pedestal but absolves the corrupt of any moral turpitude. Everyone is equally corrupt, why should I be singled out?

Beware of Moral Equivalence !!
Old 30-10-12   #5019
Senior Moderator

Likes Given: 994
My Mood: Angelic
Default Housing prices up 6.7% in Q1: RBI

Mumbai: There has been a 6.7 per cent growth in housing prices across the country in the first quarter of the current fiscal, Reserve Bank said today.

"The Reserve Bank's quarterly House Price Index, based on data for nine cities, indicates a Q-o-Q increase of 6.7 per cent at the national level," the RBI macroeconomic and monetary developments report released on the eve of monetary policy announcement said.

On a year-on-year basis, the price increase has been recorded at 24.1 per cent, the report revealed.

The index takes into account price situations in nine cities - Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai, Bangalore, Ahmedabad, Lucknow, Kolkata, Jaipur and Kanpur, it said.

Housing prices in the financial capital grew at a tepid 3.1 per cent for the quarter ended June, while growth in Kolkata was the fastest, at 28.9 per cent, it said, adding Bangalore and Kanpur witnessed a fall.

Going by transaction volumes, there was a 6.4 per cent rise on a sequential basis, the quarterly index showed, while on a Y-o-Y basis it stood at 9.3 per cent, it said.

Housing prices up 6.7% in Q1: RBI
Old 30-10-12   #5020
Ex-Moderator

Likes Given: 1145
My Mood: Devilish

http://www.firstpost.com/fwire/realt...ut-508233.html

bubble, burst, gurgaon property, property rates in gurgaon, set