#71 |
Even now,builder sells stilts as garage . Also they take black money esp Lodha ..4L in cash. So it would never be implemented properly ..Lot of lays..but you know how tough for muslims to get flats ..
#72 | |
![]() B***** Builders |
#73 | |
My Mood:
Of course it is not affordable.. South Mumbai was not affordable then and not now.. Andheri to Borivali was possible, but that is also getting out of reach.. I think even New Mumbai is terribly over priced..
What I am saying is.. this is actually a bubble.. builder borrows and buys land at exorbitant price and sells over priced houses that are bought by people by again taking a loan.. If any one defaults banks run the risk because they own a collateral and that is something which is probably more than its value.. I am not saying there will be a crash.. neither am I saying it is imminent in the near future, but I seriously have doubts on the pricing.. we will price ourselves out.. probably already have.. Look at Dubai man.. Can you ever believe that RE can crash there with all the arabs having so much money.. but it did dip din't it.. Quote:
Last edited by Sharpj; 03-09-10 at 09:54 AM. |
#74 | |
After few years you will see no projects being launched in whole of South Mumbai & Suburbs, so prices will stay as they are. Only new projects will be in remote suburbs. Ask anybody in Mumbai and nobody wants to sell. They live on income Rs 3000 per month but want to live in South Mumbai in their 2C flats. If they sell then they can get 30K per month for the rest of their life. So all new developments will be in remote suburbs. As remote suburbs are priced similar to Pune/Bangalore/NCR I do not think that the price is not competitive. 30L is reasonable give today's salaries. What people need to do is change their perspective. They have to accept the fact that homes are generally bought on a 20 year home loan. In Honk Kong people inherit home loans (50 years). If people accept the fact that they have to take home loans of 20 years (as in US, UK, Japan, Hong Kong, Australia) then the prices will all sound afforable to you. Look at the prices from EMI perspective. EMIs of 30-50K I think are afoordable to many of the IT, Finance, Airlines, Entertainment, Telecom, Retail professional couples. Last edited by jadhav_ravi; 03-09-10 at 03:30 PM. |
#75 | |
My Mood:
People are not selling because of greed brother..
I was looking for a 1 BHK in chembur.. Budget was 25 to 30 L.. yes nothing was available... I was shown a poorly maintained apartment in a 15 year old building and the price was 54 lakhs (negotiable) which was way beyond my budget and though I had no intention to buy that.. Within a week however the seller raised price to some 70 lakhs because in the street a building had gone for re development and the broker was selling me saying it is still a great deal and if it goes for redevelopment I will get a 2 BHK and in the current rate of 12 to 13 K psf.. it would be 1.2 crores.. this is a bubble .. nothing changed here but price just went up in 2 weeks.. Distant suburbs is fine if my work is in distant suburbs.. whats the point to life if I travel and work for 12 - 14 hours a day.. no NRI would do that.. If it is always going to be so high.. Mumbai will never get out of the slums.. middle class is not just IT, Bankers, and media.. there are plenty more.. the vast numbers that hang out of the second class local trains.. Quote:
#76 | |
Maybe Mumbai will be the next Tokyo or Hong Kong or Singapore, you never know . It is just that it is priced in too early.
Last edited by jadhav_ravi; 03-09-10 at 07:44 PM. |
#77 |
My Mood:
Ha Ha It is priced in too early.. but there is no refund if it does not become the next Tokyo...
Even if it does.. I do not think it is during my lifetime.. |
#78 | |
Hope you survive this wicked world till then
Last edited by jadhav_ravi; 05-09-10 at 12:44 AM. |
#79 |
My Mood:
Prices don't have to either keep going up or come down if they are too high. Mumbai real estate defies simple economics. Personally I believe Real Estate not just in Mumbai but, in India generally is overpriced. There is a bubble but, it may never burst. The builders have enough financial and poliotical muscle to hold onto to current prices unless something really goes wrong with the world economy. In my opinion prices over the next 5 years would probably stay where they are or maybe within 25% of current prices which if you adjust for inflation or the opportunity cost of the funds is the same price or maybe lower. Ofcourse, if the builders get too greedy and prices keep going up the way they have been, I don't think 20-25% annual increases in prices can be sustained for too long.
#80 | |
I think real estate will either beat inflation or stick with it for the next few years. The average growth in RE prices has always been 10-15%, y-o-y, and that will be the case going forward. If the real-inflation in India comes down to under 5%, then you could have stagnant real-estate prices. I'm going with a 10% annual price inflation for RE. |
| estate, falling, mumbai, prices, real, started |