Go Back   Indian Real Estate Forum - www.indianrealestateforum.com > Real Estate in Indian Cities > Hot Cities > Mumbai

Search Before Posting – Use 'Google Custom Search' – Keep forum free from Duplicate Threads - Use Descriptive Thread Titles

Old 14-04-10   #41

sattebaaz has received little or  no feedback

Originally Posted by rabork82 View Post
I checked out a 3BHK resale flat at Royal Palms just yesterday. The flat had a beautiful view and the seller was quoting 55 lakhs. Seemed like a dream come true... until I spoke to the residents.

Guys, there is something very shady about this whole place. Full of mysterious people. Long dingy hostel-like corridors.

The builder had seemingly promised 4 lifts per building, but just one has been made. None of the original residents live here. Almost every flat has been rented out to whistling wood students and shady people.

The buildings are ill-maintained, have a rundown deserted look. Some are left incomplete. Here are some of the truths I discovered from the people living there:

1. No water supply. You get tanker water and you have to buy bisleri to drink.

2. Ill maintained interiors of EVERY building. Plaster falling off, dark dingy corridors, just one lift functional out of the promised four. The rest three have been covered with wooden planks.

3. You get absolutely nothing at your doorstep. For veggies and milk and even medicines you have to go all the way up to the Aarey main road.

4. The club house is spic and span from outside, but the pool has dried up, there is no other activity, the gym is deserted and lying in dust for ages.

5. Now the worst fact of them all: Prostitution is rampant in most of the vacant flats. I myself witnessed 2 high class call-girls getting into a fight with the watchman for letting in 'men' into their houses in the middle of the night. They were warning him to not give out their flat numbers to just anybody. Apparently they have shifted 3 apartments within Royal Palms in the last one month. Which says enough about what goes on at Royal Palms behind closed doors.

6. You pay a whopping maintenance of 4.5 rupees per sq ft. Which comes to 5000 per month for a 3 bhk!!! Even more expensive than living in a Raheja or a DB project! And what you get is one lift and dingy run down building exteriors and interiors.

All that said, I'd say it's definitely NOT a place where you can live with your family and kids. Also there seems to be very little hope of development in the near future, as most of the near-completion buildings seem to be abandoned for a long time now. Wonder why the possession isn't still given.

If you are a bachelor looking at purchasing a cheap flat, then you could buy a 1bhk resale flat for 20, 2bhk for 30 and 3bhk for 40. It might give you good appreciation in the future. But the wait might not be worth it, given most of the current owners are desperate to dispose of their flats!
Which building was this?
Old 14-04-10   #42

rabork82 has received little or  no feedback
Exclamation

I checked out resale flats in Palms 1, Summit and the tall pink building behind it. All three were damn depressing. Palms 1 has at least formed a society now. The other two owners were simply covering up for a lot of things. One of the owners has just moved in one month ago and wants to sell immediately. When I tried to find out, he maintained that he has many properties in Mumbai and just wants to shift elsewhere to be with his relatives. But it was evident that nobody living there is happy with the neighbourhood. Ask anybody and most would want to shift out, Two families that I spoke to had similar things to say about dicey things happening all around. But no one was willing to reveal much.
Old 21-05-10   #43

Ruchir has received little or  no feedback
Default Service vs Residential Apartment

I’ve purchased a flat in Ruby Isle. The ‘Agreement for Sale’ that Royal Palms would like a buyer of an apartment in Ruby Isle to sign states that the apartment being sold to the buyer is a ‘Service Apartment’. The buyer agrees to use the said premises only as a ‘Service Apartment’ and for no other purpose and in consonance with Municipal Rules.

The agreement does not define ‘Service Apartment’.

What is the difference between such a ‘Service Apartment’ and a Residential flat that one may purchase in an ordinary housing society? Is the title of the former as complete and perfect as the latter?

The agreement does state that Royal Plams will execute a deed of lease for 999 in favour of the Housing Cooperative society that the residents of a building form. However, they will do this only after all the apartments in the building have been sold. Does the lease have any bearing on why it’s being termed as a ‘Service Apartment’?

On a separate note, I’d also be interested in forming a group or association of buyers in Ruby Isle so that we may leverage collective wisdom to address such concerns. Kindly contact me at http://ruby-isle..com/2010/0...ms-mumbai.html if you are interested in forming such an alliance.

Last edited by Ruchir; 22-05-10 at 02:54 PM.
Old 25-05-10   #44

gainvidya has received little or  no feedback

Originally Posted by rabork82 View Post
I checked out a 3BHK resale flat at Royal Palms just yesterday. The flat had a beautiful view and the seller was quoting 55 lakhs. Seemed like a dream come true... until I spoke to the residents.

Guys, there is something very shady about this whole place. Full of mysterious people. Long dingy hostel-like corridors.

The builder had seemingly promised 4 lifts per building, but just one has been made. None of the original residents live here. Almost every flat has been rented out to whistling wood students and shady people.

The buildings are ill-maintained, have a rundown deserted look. Some are left incomplete. Here are some of the truths I discovered from the people living there:

1. No water supply. You get tanker water and you have to buy bisleri to drink.

2. Ill maintained interiors of EVERY building. Plaster falling off, dark dingy corridors, just one lift functional out of the promised four. The rest three have been covered with wooden planks.

3. You get absolutely nothing at your doorstep. For veggies and milk and even medicines you have to go all the way up to the Aarey main road.

4. The club house is spic and span from outside, but the pool has dried up, there is no other activity, the gym is deserted and lying in dust for ages.

5. Now the worst fact of them all: Prostitution is rampant in most of the vacant flats. I myself witnessed 2 high class call-girls getting into a fight with the watchman for letting in 'men' into their houses in the middle of the night. They were warning him to not give out their flat numbers to just anybody. Apparently they have shifted 3 apartments within Royal Palms in the last one month. Which says enough about what goes on at Royal Palms behind closed doors.

6. You pay a whopping maintenance of 4.5 rupees per sq ft. Which comes to 5000 per month for a 3 bhk!!! Even more expensive than living in a Raheja or a DB project! And what you get is one lift and dingy run down building exteriors and interiors.

All that said, I'd say it's definitely NOT a place where you can live with your family and kids. Also there seems to be very little hope of development in the near future, as most of the near-completion buildings seem to be abandoned for a long time now. Wonder why the possession isn't still given.

If you are a bachelor looking at purchasing a cheap flat, then you could buy a 1bhk resale flat for 20, 2bhk for 30 and 3bhk for 40. It might give you good appreciation in the future. But the wait might not be worth it, given most of the current owners are desperate to dispose of their flats!
This is exactly what I saw and felt about the apartment over there. I think I was wiser to eventually purchase a property in Malvani... otherwise I would have been in tension all the time....

Thanks for your update rabork82. Ita always good to confirm the observation I had with someone else as well.
Old 12-09-10   #45

sansunder has received little or  no feedback

Greetings members

It has been 5 months since the last bit of amazing investigative work by rabork82.

Just curious to know if there are any further updates on this project. One of my friends is a huge fan of this project given the comparative low rates and he beleives that all the problems we are hearing about there is short term and will easily get resolved if I am patient

I plan to drop in there next week and want to arm myself with some forum insights before being bombarded by their marketing people.

Thank in advance for your wisdom here

SSS
Old 12-09-10   #46

jadhav_ravi has received little or  no feedback

Originally Posted by sansunder View Post
Greetings members

It has been 5 months since the last bit of amazing investigative work by rabork82.

Just curious to know if there are any further updates on this project. One of my friends is a huge fan of this project given the comparative low rates and he beleives that all the problems we are hearing about there is short term and will easily get resolved if I am patient

I plan to drop in there next week and want to arm myself with some forum insights before being bombarded by their marketing people.

SSS
Don't be greedy sansunder. Mumbai is not a place for taking risks. Every shahna has got 10 dedh shahnas waiting for him.
Old 13-09-10   #47

My Mood: Doubtful
Sharpj has received little or  no feedback

Bad quality.. Too many issues.. No harm in having a look.. don't make any investment without really thinking about it.. My friend regretted investing..

Originally Posted by sansunder View Post
Greetings members

SSS
Old 22-09-10   #48

monta_k has received little or  no feedback

Hi everyone,

Well this might be an old but real incident which happened during my interface with Royal Palms. I had purchased an office at
Royal Palms commercial building and was "promised" certain waivers in form of stamp duties & other commercial charges. But then then builder simply went over board with the possession dates and when asked for a refund was simply acting ignorant and arrogantly. The sales staff used to change every 3 months so had to repeat my case scenario to them every quarter. Finally, I had to approach a consumer court activist who in turn sent him a few notices and on the final notice did the builder finally budge, took notice and gave me a brief meeting. Finally he did give me an interest free refund ( after months of dilly dallying )after i pointed out the various discrepancies in the plan, the construction quality and also the vague promises that he was ranting about. Promises which were mere marketing gimmick.
The place is beautiful no doubt .. but the people behind the project are pathetic in terms of promise & product delivery. Plz do not buy anything there just on the basis of the beauty that u see ... ultimately u r paying for the product .. and the important but ignored criteria of "ownership" rather than the lease principle. Also, maintenance has to be factored.
They had promised subsidized electricity for the commercial project. I do not know if that has happened the way they had promised. Water ..a s i read in an earlier post can be sourced from 'powai lake .. well the fact is they dont own the lake so how can that be possible.
Also, last i was told BMC had no plans to lay water pipes to the area; RP is dependent only on boring water and bottled water. Also, i would like to know what happened to the shopping plaza which was being sold at discounted rates? Has it become functional as of yet?
What about the wave pool ? Or that has become a forgotten entity of the project?
No doubt they hire the worst of contractors as the reasonably good ones dont want to work with them due to price & payment issues. Also, the construction quality is shoddy ( thats still a very polite description ) and how can we forget the death of construction workers on the site due to collapse of a slab of one of the under construction exclusive villas. I wonder what would be the state of construction quality of normal buildings there.
During 2005 - 2006 most agents with whom i interacted didnt even wanted to deal in resale properties at RP. They seemed simply non liquid so it was real frustrating for buyers ( users or investors ).
Well, being an optimistic ... things might have changed there now.. but then again i guess its hoping against hope
Well, people plz do ur due diligence before buying.
monta
Old 22-09-10   #49

My Mood: Lurking
wadia has received little or  no feedback

Originally Posted by monta_k View Post
Well, people plz do ur due diligence before
Why even consider buying. The Times of India adverts which show 50% disount over Goregaon properties already makes every1 smell fish. Nobody sells for cheap without a reason. In the harsh Mumbai RE market, whatever defies logic is fishy.
Old 27-10-10   #50

jayesh1582 has received little or  no feedback
Icon17 verdict on buying at royal palms

Can anyone suggest .whether one should go ahead and book at royal palms or problems are still persisting..

palms, royal