Go Back   Indian Real Estate Forum - www.indianrealestateforum.com > Real Estate Interactive > Suggestion Box & Feedback

Old 30-12-11   #1

Default My wishlist for IREF in 2012. Whats Yours ???

Dear Fellow members,

2011 was certainly a year of enlightenment for me...especially when you talk about the real estate market in NCR. My first brush with RE in Gurgaon was in 2006 when after just getting married we decided to buy our dream home. Our budget at that time was 25 lakh which we didn’t know when got stretched to 40 lakh. Thanks to brokers apathy towards our financial strength and reality in Gurgaon which didn’t exist less than 45 lakh at that time.
So we took a plunge in BPTP freedom Park life and till date awaiting the possession of our elusive dream. I remember how we felt that time. Dejected, frustrated ,lost ,exasperated and more so completely ignorant.
With our search lasting 5 months and prices going up by 100 Rs every month we came to a situation that we wanted to run away from Delhi.

From our first purchase of property in 2006 I always missed a third and a neutral umpire to give the correct advise for my investment. Luckily I found the same in IREF. I believe that its my moral responsiblity to keep contribiuting in this forum so that others could benefit.

We had gone through the tough ordeal of selecting the right property.We were agonized with the pain in selecting the right property and the environment around. Would like to share the journey first then I will share my wishlist.

Following were the challenges and learning we faced then :-

1. Peer Pressure & Temptation :- We had no idea about the real estate. Infact I was never a keen believer in buying a property. I always believed that "Fools make their houses but Wiseman live in them" . I still believe in it but I have tweaked it as per the reality of RE in India in current times. But the way property prices were going up started bothering me a lot. Every day the lunch discussion of colleagues in office used to be around property and how much each one of them made quick bucks just baffled me. Finally I couldn’t resist the temptation and decided to take a plunge.

2. Ignorance: - When we started our search we realized how ignorant we were about RE market. It took me long time to understand pre-launch price, CLP, DP and how do cash and white play Russian roulette with u. There was no way I could do any research on a particular project/builder and nothing was available in on internet to look for unbiased opinion. There were few websites giving the price indicators but no forum or resource was there where you can discuss and find the ground reality. Broker was not only the kind but he was GOD for us. I felt deeply frustrated to trust a relatively uneducated/semi educated gutkha/paan chewing broker giving gyan on the merits of property. Besides for the first time I realized that the money has lost its value. The moment broker used to know about out budget,50% of them lost interest in us . So it was like we have to run after them to give us option and right advise.

3.Old school of thought:- We had grown up with middle class learning’s where we saw our parents waiting for 20-30 years to save enough to buy a house, that too from their PF advance and other life savings. House use to be a home that should be there for generations to live together. We were aghast to see how homes have become house/apartment/flat etc and they have become just like tradable commodity. It was horrifying to see how people booked in prelaunch and sold of when the first trading started without any emotions attached. For us it was difficult to adjust to this reality. We still went ahead with the emotional quotient being the guiding force. We dreamt of living in this home when it gets completed. Save enough to prepay the EMI and be very proud of what we bought. We still loved being from the Old school to relish every brick of the home where we would stay.

4. Shattered dreams :- After paying the initial deposit the excitement only got stronger day by day. Thereafter followed the countless visits to the site. Talking to the contractors, site in charge, laborers etc. Visit to Gurgaon was mandatory every week to see how the dreams were shaping up. They all came crashing the day we got the letter from BPTP that they have increased the super area 13% without increasing the carpet area by a single square foot. Then the second one came with extra charges being levied for power back up, then enormous delays and delays and the story is still going on. We learnt the hard ways that you done build home in India now. You buy houses. Just like any other commodity .Trade it and profit from it.

5. Evolution of Rookie into Aficionado:- Circa 2010,July while surfing the net for some information I discovered this wonderful site IREF. What a wonderful forum to learn, educate, share, discover, knowledge and most important never worry about being alone. Every one today deciding to buy a new house can come here and benefit with tonnes and tonnes of knowledge about RE in India. I not only benefited from it but learnt a lot from so many knowledgeable Maharathi's in this forum. My 5 years of hard way of learning could be shared and similarly I could learn from others.
In just 1 year a Rookie became a champion.... Millions of thanks for IREF for being such a wonderful help.

In my last 6 years of ljourney in RE, I always craved to have a third umpire who can give a neutral and right advise when needed. I was lucky to have found that third umpire in IREF. Hence I feel it as my moral responsiblity to contribute and make it more helpful for fellow members for a long time to come.

2011 was a year of evolution in IREF. Now when we look into 2012,I have a small wish list to improvise from where we are and incorporate few important changes to gear up for future challenges . Here it goes :-

1. Focus on original works: - I am a big admirer of original thoughts. Love to read the threads where the contribution if more from personal insight then from the borrowed thoughts. Even if someone wants to contribute a wonderful article, it should be reinterpreted in his/her own words. It will not only make it more interesting but more apt for the users looking for the information related to their requirement.

2. Strong Emphasis on Language : This forum is like a bible of RE in India. Every word written will go down as a important contribution towards the development of the forum in future. We must impose strict restrictions on the use of language, grammar, punctuation etc to make the contributor work hard on its thoughts and make it look like any other good written article. One liners or few words replies should be prohibited unless necessary.

3. Checklist for RE investment:- I am a huge fan of BlessU and admire the work that he has done to collate the info on various projects in Gurgaon. It is a ready reckoner for any newbie coming to Gurgaon and want to compare the prices and other details of the project. In similar lines I propose to have a comprehensive checklist on this forum vetted by all the veterans on important things one need to consider while making investment. Details about paperwork, taxation, capital gains, transfer, registry, loan, circle rates, sale deed, indemnity etc etc. A must haves in one's file after buying a property whether through loan or self-financed is much desired. Most importantly another check list on how to take important commitment from broker on paper etc is desired.

4. Strong Monitoring by Moderators : Liked the new ad of force motors with AB in lead saying "India mein har cheez force se chalta hei". I am sure with new mods getting finalized soon, we will see better communication happening between fellow members and any kind of nuisance getting eradicated immediately. Similarly point 1 and 2 mentioned above could be strictly followed upon.

5. Introduce the Poll facility :- There are many subjects that need to be discussed and debated and finally one outcome has to emerge rather then endless discussion. Having a utility to do poll will help many users reaching a concrete choice or selection by involving fellow members. Again the every one contributing in a poll must give the valid reasons for their choice.

Wish list mentioned above is purely based on my learning’s and thoughts. Many of you may not agree but I am sure most of you would have your own wish list. I invite active contribution from every one to put their wish list forward for 2012. I am sure with everyone’s thought we can make this forum the best in the world.

Last but not the least, I have thoroughly enjoyed interacting, contribution and learning from this forum and look forward to exciting journey in 2012 and beyond. Wishing everyone in the forum a very happy and prosperous new year.
Have a blast tomorrow and keep rocking for a long time to come.

Happy Investing!!

Rushil.

Last edited by rushilarora; 30-12-11 at 02:16 PM.
The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to rushilarora For This Useful Post:
amit001 (30-12-11), BlessU (31-12-11), cautious_guy (31-12-11), Counterfeit (02-01-12), Designer (30-12-11), fritolay_ps (30-12-11), Gaurav256 (31-12-11), IGRM (02-01-12), im_amit (30-12-11), Krazy Yuppie (20-04-12), LChand (30-12-11), mahjah14 (06-01-12), Phases (31-12-11), raja625 (31-12-11), sh-saxena (31-12-11), shkhan (30-12-11), Varun84 (31-12-11)
Old 30-12-11   #2
Super Moderator

Just simple wish for IREF.... 78,900 members will become 7,89,000. Hope admin is now smiling..
Old 30-12-11   #3

My Mood: Asleep
Thanked 1,171 Times in 885 Posts

rushil, great write up,.....................

If wishes were horses
Beggars would ride:
If turnips were watches
I would wear one by my side.
And if if's and an's were pots and pans,
The tinker would never work!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MANOJa For This Useful Post:
amit001 (04-01-12), raja625 (31-12-11)
Old 30-12-11   #4

Thanks Manoj....

Quite liked these lines about wishes.... Lets see how far my wishes come true...

Wish you a very happy new year...

Originally Posted by MANOJa View Post
rushil, great write up,.....................

If wishes were horses
Beggars would ride:
If turnips were watches
I would wear one by my side.
And if if's and an's were pots and pans,

The tinker would never work!
Old 30-12-11   #5

rushil,thanks & an Happy & a Prosperopus New Year to u also .
Old 31-12-11   #6

Hoping to see your wish list too Manoj,Amit(all kinds),blessU,iSHANB etc and many more....

Originally Posted by MANOJa View Post
rushil,thanks & an Happy & a Prosperopus New Year to u also .
Old 31-12-11   #7

I have a very simple wish, not a list - i hope to see the Brokers ( the conniving one's) out of this wonderful platform for exchanges & learning's on RE & a system to keep these kind of people in check & permanently out in order to facilitate flow of just information .

The above can be probably achieved by an very active & a strong moderation team, besides other measures .

Originally Posted by rushilarora View Post
Hoping to see your wish list too Manoj,Amit(all kinds),blessU,iSHANB etc and many more....

Last edited by IGRM; 03-01-12 at 12:44 AM.
Old 31-12-11   #8

My Mood: Amused
Smile

Originally Posted by rushilarora View Post
Dear Fellow members,
[COLOR=#5d5d5e][FONT=Verdana]3. Checklist for RE investment:- I am a huge fan of BlessU and admire the work that he has done to collate the info on various projects in Gurgaon.
Happy Investing!!

Rushil.

Surely, we two share a lot in common in terms of emotions and experiences. I am truly humbled by your appreciation and kind words for the excel which was more a creation of my own necessity for reasons very vividly mentioned by you in your post.

I would want like minded people to add sections as described by you and come forward to take up the contributor status enabling many NRIs/Investors/Endusers who cant access a rightful and unbiased opinion/information for taking informed decision.. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...MRE5hVEE#gid=0
100s of people hungry for information on dwarka expressway projects have had the benefit of access to this link over the past 6 odd months which more than compensates the time and effort of contributors like Shkhan, Amit001, Dineshmea, prashantntrk etc as investors and many unknown brokers.

It would be a wonderful idea if this can be updated regularly, made less cluttered and possibly interactive in the form of a website!!!. Like format can even be extended for other NCR RE destinations like FBD, Ghzbd, Noida, Gr Noida, Delhi etc. A link for faridabad projects on similar lines, https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...hvdnc&hl=en_GB

Thank you Rushil once again, along with IREF, Manoja, Amit001, Fritolays, IshanB, Venky, The Punjabi, VinayBhatia, Beowulf, psamber, agastya, saurabh2011, dineshmea, nitimm, Amitbhalla, amitmm, jit2011, shkhan, cookie, anuj, rudder, designer, lchand, wiseman, and all those who have guided, enriched, and shared their experiences through PMs, chats on the excel worksheet, email and on the forum. Wish you guys a wonderful, prosperous and happy new year and sweet memories of the year goneby

In my characteristic style, would not like to make this post boring and long winding and would conclude with excerpts of a recent post on my favourite dway thread containing my 2012wishes and in response to a new friend Mr RP Yadav made here on the forum Dwarka Gurgaon Super Expressway (Northern Peripheral Road)
Response
Dwarka Gurgaon Super Expressway (Northern Peripheral Road)

One last wish I want to make is early delivery of possession of units by BPTP/others to Neharpar Faridabad homeseekers/elsewhere and development of the stretch by HUDA. Request all to kindly comment with your remarks in support of 50000 homeseekers deprived and denied of a home which should be rightfully theirs, Read:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1.../edit?hl=en_GB

Last edited by BlessU; 31-12-11 at 06:31 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to BlessU For This Useful Post:
Counterfeit (02-01-12)
Old 31-12-11   #9

Rushil, ManojA, BlessU

Thanks for sharing such beautiful thoughts...I guess most of the other members will also have same story and experiences. My wish from IREF:

1- if this platform could enable a mass movement, like the one against corrption, towards checking the rampant cheating by builders, brokers etc towards making this sector clean.
2- If representatives from key stakeholder entities (like town planning dept, HUDA, builders etc.) could also start leveraging IREF as a medium to- understand what's happening on the ground, and interacting with other users to engage in meaningul discussions to finetune their services.

These could be crazy thoughts but that's what came to my mind when i thought of adding my 2 cents to this thread.
The Following User Says Thank You to Gaurav256 For This Useful Post:
Counterfeit (02-01-12)
Old 31-12-11   #10
Administrator

Nice write-up. I only skimmed for now as I only have a second but plan to read this to see what part of it I can help with.

2012, iref, wishlist