Hi,

I am staying in an apartment for rent. My owner, who stays in a different city, informed me last week he plans to sell it and asked me if I was interested in purchasing it. I have been staying here for over 2 years and my experience has been good. So, I informed him I will think about it. Checking with the building association, I found an uncomfortable fact.

The building was constructed in 2008 and has 22 flats. The approved plan was for 11 flats, and hence there is a 100% deviation.

The association secretary, who also has a flat here, told me the deviation isn't an issue at all. He says the Khata is done for all apartments. He also said all owners are paying property tax for the last 5 years therefore the apartments are all regularized.

I am not sure how valid his arguments are, and I would like to know if I will face any issues going ahead with option?

Thanks,
Praveen
Read more
4 Replies
Sort by :Filter by :
  • Continue to stay on rent and enjoy your peace. Buying properties with deviation is illegal and can cause serious damage in the long term. Why dont you just wait and see how many people show up to buy this place?
    CommentQuote
  • I don't hear news of BBMP demolishing buildings with deviations, meanwhile all small builders have major deviations in every building I have seen, without exceptions. I cannot afford big builders' constructions.
    I guess I am just tired of searching for new apartments to rent.

I keep hearing about this being illegal, but are there real instances and in good number in Bangalore to justify this fear?

I am sure a lot of things are illegal, e.g. registering the apartment for much lesser than its purchase price, but I see almost no one doing the registration at the right price.

These things may be illegal, but I want to understand, this being so prevalent, if
    the actual risk to an individual big enough to lose sleep over.