I understand that this is probably not the right place to discuss this, but since many people are interested in Real estate as an investment, thought this would be appropriate to ask.

I'm curious how you guys manage your investment portfolio. Like what % in RE, in other forms of investment like stocks,mutual funds,FDs etc

I understand it all depends on one's priorities/interests and of course the situation they are in their lives w.r.t to age, financial obligations etc -but just looking to understand how you guys go about investing and hope we can learn from each others' ideas towards investing.

Would love you hear your thoughts and personal experiences.

To start with here's my approach. I'm a novice investor(so far have been just saving in bank and haven't bothered much, though I used it all up recently to buy a house for end use)

I'm planning to divide my investment amount as follows:
1) 60% in real estate (looking for a plot in Chennai suburbs now (Kelambakkam, Padappai, Oragadam, Sriperambadur areas).
2) 20% in stocks and mutual funds. Have never had much luck so far in identifying growth stocks. Primarily right now investing for long in blue chip companies and index funds. Also just a bit- maybe a tenth of stock investments in gold(GLD). Might sell some of these assets when I eventually end up buying a plot.
3) 20% cash for emergency funds (in FD).

Other than this I participate in my company's ESPP(Employee stock purchase plan). Not contributing anything towards retirement funds.

Can you share some of your tips?
Read more
18 Replies
Sort by :Filter by :
  • I do not invest a lot. But RE is a big portion of it.

90% goes towards RE.
    10% bond funds (used to be aggressive stock funds, got out in Apr 2012).

Nothing else. No company stock/gold or fd.
    CommentQuote
  • Originally Posted by k11
    I do not invest a lot. But RE is a big portion of it.

90% goes towards RE.
    10% bond funds (used to be aggressive stock funds, got out in Apr 2012).