Hi,

I am a salaried professional booked a flat through broker. Broker paid me commision and deducted commision under sec 194H(commision & brokerage). I can find this info in Form 26AS.

Earlier I always used to file ITR-1 and use form 16 to fill the tax form. I am not sure which ITR form to be used this time as it has some borkerage TDS as well.

I know many salaried people have booked their flat via broker here and must be in same scenario as me.

What the best possible way to handle this?

Experts please advise.
Read more
13 Replies
Sort by :Filter by :
  • As per my understanding, if Broker gets 5% of commision (100 Rs) from builder and agrees to pass 4% (80) to buyer than in this case:

Broker will get 5% from the company after TDS deduction it will be (100 -100*10%) = 90 Rs.

He will deduct the TDS he has already paid to company when he is paying you and give you 72 only.

I feel in this case he will not submit this 8 Rs. as TDS against your PAN No so the same would not reflect in your form 26AS.
    CommentQuote
  • Originally Posted by nkg_8
    As per my understanding, if Broker gets 5% of commision (100 Rs) from builder and agrees to pass 4% (80) to buyer than in this case:

Broker will get 5% from the company after TDS deduction it will be (100 -100*10%) = 90 Rs.

He will deduct the TDS he has already paid to company when he is paying you and give you 72 only.

I feel in this case he will not submit this 8 Rs. as TDS against your PAN No so the same would not reflect in your form 26AS.

Thanks for you replay. I will try to explain again. Lets not bring builder into picture.

Broker has given me a cheque of Rs 90 after deducting TDS Rs. 10. The same TDS is shown in Form 26AS u/s 194H. Where as TDS from Salary is shown u/s 192

Now which ITR form to be used in this case, where my main income is salary.
    CommentQuote