There were couple of posts on similar topics but please excuse me to repost..I'm really a newbie into this, so wanted to verify the process thoroughly.

Lets say the flat amount is 50 lakhs, and it's split as 30L (my contribution) + 20L (loan). Lets say seller's loan outstanding is also 30L (same as my contribution)

Pay token 50K and sign MOU and get it notarized
    Hire an Attorney and do Search and Title Clearance.
    Get the copy of property documents my bank requires from the seller including NOC from builder (no society formed yet)
    Get the property docs verified by the Attorney
    Submit the property docs to my bank to process the loan (assume that loan is already blanket sanctioned)
    "Agreement for Assignment" - Do partial payment (self contribution 30 lakhs minus 50K ) and get the agreement registered with payment schedule of the left 20 lakhs. Pay Stamp duty + Registration charges at this time
    The submits the cheque (30L) to his bank for his loan closure.
    Seller's bank gives him all documents
    Seller gives the original documents to me and I give them to my bank and collect the disbursement of 20L payable to the seller.
    I pay the 20L to the seller and Sign sale-deed saying the full payment is done
    Is there any step I am missing ? Can someone tell me what is the difference between "Sale Deed" and "Agreement for Assignment".

Also, is there any central Municipal database system that gets updated with my name and data once the registration is done saying I am the owner of the flat now ?

Hypothetically, is there a chance that the seller just takes the 30Lakhs and never comes back to me after the "Agreeement for Assignment" is done ? No.. right ?