Independence Day is annually observed on 15 August as a national holiday in Indiacommemorating the nation's independence from the United Kingdom on 15 August 1947, the UK Parliament passed the Indian Independence Act 1947 transferring legislative sovereignty to the Indian Constituent Assembly. India still retained King George VI as head of state until its transition to full republican constitution.

Read more
0 Replies
Sort by :Filter by :
No replies found for this discussion.