Lately there have been a number of queries on what are the various levels of Earthquake Resistant i.e. Fully Operational, Immediate Occupancy and Life Safety and how these earthquake safety levels are quantified.

For the benefit of all I have uploaded two FEMA documents and the same can be downloaded from the links below. Those who would like further reading, please visit the FEMA website to download balance documents.

It is recommended that before investing in high end properties to take written assurances that they are at least "Earthquake Resistant - Immediate Occupancy".

Read more
1 Replies
Sort by :Filter by :
  • Good info!!

    Thanks Donald,
    I think the info you have provided is extremely important.We forget such things when we get carried away by the builders hype.But you have mentioned only high-end buildings.What about other buildings ?Are'nt they supposed to have earthquake protection?